Shabbat for Kids & Families

At Central Synagogue

Shabbat Central

For Families with Children Ages 0-5

Open to All

Shabbat Central provides a warm, exciting, and accessible Shabbat experience for your entire family. Geared to families of children from birth to age five, Shabbat Central is led by an experienced musician and children’s service leader along with members of the clergy and Early Childhood Department staff. Children and families gather together for song, prayer, movement, stories, and fun. Following the service, a light meal is served.

Meet Todah, our new friend who will join us each week!

Any questions? Contact Amy Martin.

Upcoming Shabbat Central Fridays

• Welcome Back Shabbat: Friday, September 7, 2018, Lese Lobby, 5 pm

• Friday, October 12, 2018, Lese Lobby, 5 pm

• Friday, November 2, 2018, Lese Lobby, 5 pm

• Friday, December 14, 2018, Lese Lobby, 5 pm

• Friday, February 8, 2019, Lese Lobby, 5 pm

• Friday, March 15, 2019, Lese Lobby, 5 pm

• Friday, April 12, 2019, Lese Lobby, 5 pm

Upcoming Shabbat Central Saturdays

• Saturday, October 27, 2018, Lese Lobby, 9:30 am

• Saturday, November 17, 2018, Lese Lobby, 9:30 am

• Saturday, December 1, 2018, Lese Lobby, 9:30 am

• Saturday, January 12, 2019, Lese Lobby, 9:30 am

• Saturday, February 2, 2019, Lese Lobby, 9:30 am

• Saturday, March 2, 2019, Lese Lobby, 9:30 am

• Saturday, March 30, 2019, Lese Lobby, 9:30 am

• Saturday, May 18, 2019, Lese Lobby, 9:30 am

• Saturday, June 8, 2019, Lese Lobby, 9:30 am

• Saturday, June 22, 2019, Lese Lobby, 9:30 am


Shabbat Yeladim

For LCLJ Students Grades K-5

Shabbat Yeladim (meaning Children’s Shabbat) is a program for our young LCLJ learners in grades K-5. Drop off your child(ren) with us and while you attend our Main Sanctuary service, we’ll provide an age-appropriate, fun, creative, and meaningful Shabbat experience downstairs in our Pavilion. Shabbat Yeladim programs will run 6:00-7:30pm (or when services in the Sanctuary conclude) and each week will include a Kabbalat Shabbat service with guest appearances from our clergy, a teaching on the week’s torah portion and upcoming holidays, and a unique and exciting theme (magic, Cupcake Wars, Bowling, and more!) with an accompanying activity.

Any questions? Contact Merissa Hochberg.

Upcoming Shabbat Yeladim Programs

Our People

Lily Goldstein

Merissa Hochberg

Director of the LCLJ

Lily Goldstein

Amy Martin

Director of Family Engagement

Naomi Kachel

Naomi Kachel

Family Engagement Coordinator & Director of Camp Central

Shira Kobren Wasserman

Shira Kobren Wasserman

Family Engagement Music Coordinator