Shabbat for Kids & Families

At Central Synagogue

Shabbat Central

For Families with Children Ages 0-5

Open to All

Shabbat Central provides a warm, exciting, and accessible Shabbat experience for your entire family. Geared to families of children from birth to age five, Shabbat Central is led by an experienced musician and children’s service leader along with members of the clergy and Early Childhood Department staff. Children and families gather together for song, prayer, movement, stories, and fun. Following the service, a light meal is served.

Meet Todah, our new friend who will join us each week!

Any questions? Contact Amy Martin.

Upcoming Shabbat Central Fridays

Friday, January 31, 2020 at 5:00pm
Friday, February 28, 2020 at 5:00pm
Friday, March 13, 2020 at 5:00pm
Friday, April 3, 2020 at 5:00pm
Friday, May 29, 2020 at 5:00pm

Upcoming Shabbat Central Saturdays

Saturday, November 23, 2019 at 9:30am
Saturday, December 7, 2019 at 9:30am
Saturday, January 11, 2020 at 9:30am
Saturday, February 8, 2020 at 9:30am
Saturday, March 28, 2020 at 9:30am
Saturday, April 25, 2020 at 9:30am
Saturday, May 16, 2020 at 9:30am


Shabbat Yeladim

For LCLJ Students Pre-K to 5th Grade

Shabbat Yeladim (meaning Children’s Shabbat) is a program for our young LCLJ learners in Pre-K to 5th Grade. Drop off your child(ren) with us and while you attend our Main Sanctuary service, we’ll provide an age-appropriate, fun, creative, and meaningful Shabbat experience downstairs in our Pavilion. Shabbat Yeladim programs will run 6:00-7:30pm (or when services in the Sanctuary conclude) and each week will include a Kabbalat Shabbat service with guest appearances from our clergy, a teaching on the week’s torah portion and upcoming holidays, and a unique and exciting theme (magic, Cupcake Wars, Bowling, and more!) with an accompanying activity.

Any questions? Contact Merissa Hochberg.

Upcoming Shabbat Yeladim Programs

Friday, January 10, 2020 at 6:00pm
Friday, March 13, 2020 at 6:00pm
Friday, May 8, 2020 at 6:00pm

Our People

Rabbi Rebecca Rosenthal

Rabbi Rebecca Rosenthal

Director of Youth and Family Education

Amy Martin

Amy Martin

Director of Family Engagement

Naomi Kachel

Naomi Kachel

Family Engagement Coordinator & Director of Camp Central

Shira Kobren Wasserman

Shira Kobren Wasserman

Manager of Family Engagement Music & Central Tots